Color Everywhere!

I am a big fan of color; however, getting it to work correctly can be a different story. I believe adding color, especially in little bits with jewelry and accessories, can really brighten your day, your outfit, and your mood. I also believe I have touched on my love for color previously, so I won’t dwell on it too much. To move into my topic, I was recently reading about the upcoming jewelry trends and found that one of the big trends in jewelry this spring is color. The reason for this trend is because the bright colors promote energy and a positive outlook to the day. Luckily, there are some pastels thrown into the mix for those who aren’t big fans of the bright and bold. Whether you prefer brights or pastels, the concept is the same…color boosts your mood. It seems like every where we go these days, people are talking about needing a mood booster, so maybe the fashion industry is onto something.

Pantone LLC is the global authority on color for the design industry. They recently posted the color trends for Spring 2012, which you can check out here: Pantone Fashion Color Report Spring 2012

After checking out the colors on Pantone’s site, the one thing I really like about them is that they coordinate with each other, or at least some of them do. I think the Starfish (tan) and Caberet (bright pink) would look great together in a jewelry set, or as a clothing outfit. The same goes for Driftwood (gray/brown) and Cockatoo (aqua). I have been looking at my jewelry line up lately and thinking it’s pretty well stocked, but now that I have looked at these colors, I’m thinking I want to work with them and add them to the line up. I am really loving the Caberet, but I don’t know if other ladies would feel the same way. I have a weakness for bold pink. The one color I have tried is the Color of the Year, Tangerine Tango.

Every year, Pantone selects a Color of the Year, and Tangerine Tango was selected for the 2012 Color of the Year. According to Leatrice Eiseman, executive director of the Pantone Color Institute, “Tangerine Tango is an orange with a lot of depth to it.” The color is sure “to provide the energy boost we need to recharge and move forward.”

I find it interesting that the common theme in the Spring 2012 colors is energy and moving forward. I think that says something about the feelings of most people right now. There is a desire to move forward and find energy and fun in life.

Now, what about you… Do bright colors move you? Are you attracted to them? By being attracted to them, you don’t necessarily need to buy them, but they might cause you to at least pay attention to them. When you look at the list of colors for the spring, which one calls to you? Which one do you like the most?

As always, thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “Color Everywhere!

  1. Orange is one of the colors I’m attracted to, but not likely to buy. When I see orange things, whether it’s jewelry or clothes, I will often check it out, but I always feel it is too bold for me. Maybe I should take my own advice and try some to see what it would do.

    As far as the font, it’s called Desdemona. I love the vintage and Frank Lloyd Wright-ish look about it.

Leave a Reply

