1st Show Recap

I am a big fan of finding learning experiences in everyday events. Sometimes this is the best way of finding something good on an otherwise bad day.

I attended my first craft show of the year last Saturday. It proved to be an interesting day. The night before the show, I told my husband I always get nervous the night before my first show each year. I have to get back into the swing of things. I was especially nervous this time. My mom and sister were away and my husband had to work, so I flew solo. It taught me to keep my chin up in the face of frustration and it taught me how bad my memory is.

The show was a local community day. It had a combination of food, children’s activities, and artisans and was scheduled to start at 9:00 a.m. Vendors were to report at 7:00. My truck was packed and ready to go at 6:50 (the show was almost literally right down the road from my house). Upon arrival, I noticed no one around me had canopies set up, so I decided to keep mine down. This was good because I can’t set it up alone very well. As I started to get everything out, I couldn’t help but feel something was missing. Then it hit me – my earrings were all at home. Thank goodness home was 5 minutes away! After a quick trip home, I was ready to roll. Lesson- create a checklist to make sure you have everything before leaving home.

Then came lunch…when I realized I ate my sandwich as a mid-morning snack and didn’t have a lunch. Lesson – bring a few snacks in addition to lunch.

I found it interesting how many ladies asked about metal allergies throughout this show. I am wondering if people are starting to have more metal reactions because they are buying cheaper jewelry with the economy being what it is. Note, nickel and copper, which are often added to precious metals to make them more durable, are generally the metals people are allergic to more so than the silver or gold. Lesson – do more research on metal alloys and metal allergies.

As the end of the day approached, I began to realize my arms were a bit pink. I was intending on being under the canopy, so I didn’t think about applying sunscreen before leaving the house. After I got home, I realized I was a little more than pink on the back of my neck. Ouch! Lesson – if the show is outside, put on sunscreen just in case.

The show wasn’t super busy, but I was happy with the results and I learned a few things. Now, if only I could keep these things in mind for the future.

Here are a few photos I took at the show.

 

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “1st Show Recap

  1. onlineghostwriterforhire says:

    Good for YOU Beautiful Gretchen! I am a HUGE believer in people taking control of their lives, and starting their own businesses, whether it will be part time or full time! Bravo on your awesome jewelry selling…and I love that photo, if that is you, well, you look gorgeous! Keep smiling and keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

