Elegant Simplicity

Timeless elegance. Just plain pretty. Elegant simplicity. Those concepts are passions of mine and I think we’re going to see more of them in the coming months.

After writing my last post on pearls, I got to thinking about how the simple timeless pieces are really making a comeback. For quite some time, women have been buying chunky, colorful jewelry. It’s been through the magazines, down the catwalks, and on the streets. However, I’m starting to see a shift away from it, at least at the shows I am involved in. Women are looking for jewelry that can go anywhere instead of separate pieces to match every outfit.

Color is still a big deal in jewelry, but on more simple terms. A colorful pendant for instance or a bright pair of earrings is more in line with today’s woman than layers of bold necklaces. Solid metals really seem to be taking over, too. These are so versatile I don’t blame people for leaning towards them more and more. It’s not just jewelry that is becoming simpler; our wardrobes are, too.

For those who know me personally, you might have noticed I’ve lost a bit of weight over the past year. Because of this, I need to revamp my wardrobe. As I’ve been search for what is in style this year, I’m finding the clothes to be simpler and more fitted. Five work outfits you can mix and match, plus two weekend outfits, which are also fitted and streamlined, are about all you need. This is in check with what I have been seeing on the front lines of jewelry. A few pieces that can go anywhere are all a lady needs. A pendant, a pearl necklace, a pair of hoop earrings, a pair of stud pearl earrings, and a simple bracelet or two will do the job quite nicely. As I think about this, I think there is more to it than meets the eye.

If you follow the news, you know there are some rough economic situations going on across the world. If you follow the economic news, you might know there are predictions of a collapse come this autumn. I could be wrong, but I think the simpler styles we are seeing are related to the tightness in the economy. We saw this in the 1930s. The 1920s were a time of luxury and boldness in style, but when the 30s rolled around and the economy got tight, style simplified. With money becoming tighter, people are trying to streamline their lifestyles and simplify what they have.

In tune with this simple style concept, I recently posted a jewelry set in my Etsy shop which I think is perfect simplicity with just a touch of “wow.”  What do you think?

 Here are the links for them:

Wire Wrapped Aventurine Necklace

Wire Wrapped Aventurine Earrings

Simple style might not be for everyone, but I’m thrilled to see ladies leaning more towards it. I think there’s something very ladylike and refined about simple clothing and especially about simple jewelry. It’s simply elegant.

As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

