Sell Yourself!

A few weeks ago I participated in a craft show in my neighboring town. It was an interesting learning experience for me. If you haven’t been following my posts, I am very interested in learning new things and turning bad situations into learning experiences. So here it is…

 I have been participating in this craft show since 2009. The first year I nearly sold out of jewelry. My inventory wasn’t as big then as it is now, but there was still a good bit of jewelry going out to new homes. What I found interesting about that show was I had great luck in spite of the fact that the economy had just made a turn for the worst. In 2010, I did pretty well with this show again, but not as well as I had the year before. In 2011, I did not do well at all in this show. This year was better, but not where I thought it could have been. The show was not advertised very well and I think that played into things this year.

 I mention this not to discuss how many sales I did or didn’t make, but to note what I learned that weekend from watching my own success and that of the artisans around me. Long story short, I learned that if you are falling into a hole, it’s better to try climbing out of it than to let yourself slide further down (simple concept, right?). It wasn’t just my booth that was slow; things were slow throughout the show. The further we got into the day, the more I noticed other vendors sitting back in their chairs reading or working on projects and not paying attention to the folks who walked into their booth. It was apparent they gave up on selling because it was slow. I, on the other hand, never sat down (at least I don’t think I did). I talked to as many people as I could.

 Now part of the reason the other artisans were sitting might have had to do with the fact that they were all at least 15 to 20 years older than I am. Maybe by that age, I won’t be able to stand all day either. But so many of them did not seem interested in what they were doing; they weren’t interested in being there. I mean this kindly, if you aren’t passionate about what you are doing, find something else. If you aren’t fully into what you do, you won’t be as successful! With that in mind, if you hit a rough spot, you have to keep your passion up. Don’t just sit back and lose interest because then it will only get slower and become worse for you.

 I have read a lot about how depression is on the rise with the faltering economy because people are losing hope. Instead of losing hope, get out there and sell yourself. Find your passion, your drive, and move on it. That’s how this nation got started…people did what they could do or what they did best instead of waiting around for something to come to them. They pushed themselves.

 So the lesson here is every person has a talent, it’s whether or not you push yourself and take chances that determines whether or not you go anywhere with that talent.

 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

