A Splash of Color

Upon logging into my Etsy account this morning, I was greeted with a splash of color. If you are unfamiliar with Etsy (www.etsy.com), they always list a collection of items having a common theme. This morning’s theme was rainbows, so everything was very colorful. After looking through the photos, I decided I wanted to do something with a little color today. I knew I didn’t have enough various colors of beads to make a complete rainbow, but I figured I could at least create a splash of colors.

So I set off for my work desk to see what I could come up with. I usually tout using gemstones in my jewelry, but it is quite difficult to get the bright colors needed for a rainbow with natural gemstones. It is possible with glass, but I didn’t have quite what I needed, so I worked with what I had.

As always, I tried to stick with the elegant simplicity concept I love so much. Beads went onto the desk, and they were put away again. I laid things out and then changed them around. Finally, I came up with what I think is a perfect splash of color for the warm days of summer.

What do you think?

The necklace and earrings are created with pastel colored glass beads and the metal components used in the necklace and the earrings are all sterling silver. The wire you see between the beads on the necklace is stainless steel. I use this in almost all of the necklaces and bracelets I make.

As much as I like bold colors, I have found the majority of ladies prefer pastel and neutral colors. They are very diverse and even though they are colors, they can still match a lot of clothing.

So, it goes to show you can find inspiration anywhere. It’s funny to think my inspiration for these light colored pieces were photos of bold rainbow colored pieces. Where do you find inspiration?

Thanks for stopping by!

Oh, if you are interested in these pieces, they are listed on Etsy here:

Necklace: https://www.etsy.com/listing/105262507/pastel-colored-glass-floating-necklace

Earrings: https://www.etsy.com/listing/105263305/pastel-colored-glass-earrings

 

Leave a Reply

