A bit of creativity as I clean

Every once in a while I like to go through the supplies I have on hand and see what I can come up with. Sometimes I can put pieces together with what I have and other times I need a few things to complete my idea. I did this recently and here is my result:

As I went through my supply inventory, I noticed the green beads and I thought they would work well together, but I wasn’t sure how. I also had a 1-inch square of sterling silver. As I finished taking note of what I had on hand, I realized I did not have any chain or clasps. The chain wasn’t as important, but the clasps are almost essential for making bracelets or necklaces.

 

I decided I had a number of square sterling silver pieces, so I cut the square into a circle, still not quite sure what I was going to do with it. Then I thought about those few green beads I had and worked on some ways I could use those. I decided I wanted to combine the sterling silver circle and the green beads somehow with chain. So I went out and bought some chain and a clasp (okay, I bought a few clasps so I could make a few other ideas I had).

 

The trouble with sterling silver is it does not stay shiny very well. It is fairly soft so it can scratch easily and it also shows fingerprints. Because of this, I figured my best bet was to hammer the circle to give it some texture and cover the scratches.

 

I set up various combinations of the beads always keeping the circle in the center as a pendant. Eventually I settled on what I thought worked and went together piecing it together.

 

For using odds and ends materials which I never intended to use together, I think it turned out beautifully. Now I have to make some earrings to match it.

 

I also came up with a few other ideas by piecing together odds and ends I had, but I liked this one the most. Not to say the others aren’t beautiful as well, but I really liked this one.

 

What do you think?

Thanks for stopping by!
PS: If you are interested in purchasing this necklace, it is available on my Etsy site here: Sterling Silver and Green Bead Necklace

 

Leave a Reply

