Pretty Little Things

In my last post I mentioned feeling inspired to make a handbag. Well, sometimes one should stick to what one knows best. Handbag-1, Gretchen-0. I had an idea, but it didn’t come together as planned, so I moved on to earrings instead. I ended up with three pairs!

 

Besides the fact that the bag didn’t come together as expected, I have a home show coming up and I realized I need more jewelry for it. How quickly I turned frustration into motivation. As a side note, stay tuned later in the month for home show coverage.

 

Back to the earrings…I have been working on a goal of using as many of my existing supplies as possible before purchasing more. These earrings are examples of that. I started by digging through what I had and picking out what I wanted to work with. From there I sketched out ideas and moved into the creation process. These are what I came up with…

 

Sterling Silver and Sodalite:

IMG_4677

Last year I created a pair of earrings with this same wire design. I hung a pearl on each earring and they turned out beautifully. Back in January I started to make another pair, but I never got around to adding the pearl, so this weekend it was time to finish them. I was feeling like using some color, so I opted for the blue sodalite beads instead of the pearls. These beads have swirls of different shades of blue and white through them making them almost look like denim. The combination makes them perfect for your favorite jeans and blouse outfit.

 

Sterling Silver and Sponge Coral:

IMG_4679

I made the circles a few weeks ago with the thought that I would make them first and then add to them. I didn’t like the flat circles so I hammered them into a domed shape. At first I was just going to hang the circles on earwires and call them a simple pair of solid silver earrings, but again I was feeling colorful. Some rummaging through my beads resulted in two coral beads, which added just the kick of color I was looking for. Now I keep finding myself looking at these earrings and not wanting to sell them. I suppose I’ll have to make another pair for myself!

 

Solid Sterling Rectangles:

IMG_4681

This last pair of earrings came from scraps in a way. After I cut out the circles in the other pair of earrings, I was left with a skinny rectangle. I decided to cut it in half, and add beads to it (again with the color kick). After I shaped the rectangles and hung them on the earwires, I liked them so much I decided not to add beads to this pair. The solid silver allows them to be perfect for any occasion.

If you are interested in purchasing any of these pairs of earrings, you can find them in my Etsy shop through this links:

Sterling Silver Sodalite Earrings

Sterling Silver Sponge Coral Earrings

Sterling Silver Rectangle Earrings

Now it’s back to the drawing board to see what else I can come up with. I seem to have more beads than I have metal supplies, so this could get difficult soon, or it could get interesting…

 

For now, thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Pretty Little Things

  1. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you can
    be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will eventually come back
    at some point. I want to encourage continue your great posts, have a nice
    evening!

Leave a Reply

