I’ve had a lot on my mind lately as I’ve been trying to balance work, volunteer commitments, household chores, and also find time to make jewelry. With so much on my mind, I was quite stressed a few nights ago and my husband suggested I go to my workspace and create a piece of jewelry. I went to my desk and decided to totally focus on what I was doing and create something to have some fun, but also something really pretty.

I think it took me about 15 minutes to decide what I want to make. You see, I’ve been trying to slim down my inventory lately because I’m on a minimizing kick. This makes it a bit of a challenge because I have ideas, but I don’t have everything I need to make them. In the end I spread out several options and components before I finally decided what I wanted to do.

At first I thought I wanted color because it’s spring. There’s something about spring and color which just go together for me. Then I thought I wanted simple elegance. I wanted a timeless piece that would work for any occasion. That idea won over the color. I’ll have to come up with something else for the color piece.

After much thought and a big mess of pieces, I created this pair of earrings.

IMG_4688

I created a pair like this as a Christmas gift for my hairdresser. After I created them for her, I wanted to make another pair. Now that I have created this pair, I might have to do one more. Why one more? One will get put into the inventory and one I will keep. Rarely ever to I keep jewelry I make because my styles, likes, and dislikes change pretty frequently, but I do enjoy having a few solid accessories to go with any outfit on any day. These earrings fit that bill perfectly.

While I was making these earrings, I had a thought. One way to cheer up any woman is to give her a beautiful piece of jewerly as a gift. (Okay, maybe that doesn’t always work.) However, it cheers me up just as much to create a beautiful piece of jewelry. I might not be like most women though.

It was so fun to create this pair of earrings and it helped me unwind. I think they turned out beautifully and that really helped my mood. I have to remember this and think of doing something like this more often when I feel stressed.

What do you do to de-stress and unwind? Is it a hobby? Do you read? Everyone has their go-to activity.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

