Changing Course

Have you ever felt like throwing everything up in the air and starting all over again? I’m just about to that point, but I think I will try to be a bit more organized about it.

A few weeks ago I had a meeting with a small business coach from a group called SCORE. According to their website, “SCORE is a nonprofit association dedicated to helping small businesses get off the ground, grow and achieve their goals through education and mentorship.” I wasn’t quite sure what to think as I went to the meeting, but the two gentlemen I met with gave me a lot to think about. However, some of their ideas have lead me to think I need to back up and start over in some ways.

I must say, it was interesting to talk to two men about a jewelry business. They had no idea on anything jewelry related except for the jewelry their wives wore. However, this provided some interesting insights. One thing they pointed out is that my styles are a bit scattered. I have always prided myself on having a wide variety of styles, but they said that could actually be hurting me. It ends up looking too cluttered and doesn’t have a consistency. This hurts in advertising because I can’t have a set style to tie everything together. I thought this was interesting because I have considered going in one direction, but I wasn’t sure if it would appeal to the masses. After talking to my husband about this, I realized it’s not always what appeals to the masses that’s important. It’s more important for me to enjoy what I do and to create something that appeals to a dedicated group of followers (more or less).

With this all in mind, I have decided to move away from the big, chunky designs and go to simple and elegant designs with some nature inspired themes. This is where I started and this is what I really enjoy. If my crowdfunding project works out, this will be an excellent way to piggy-back onto the American made jewelry concept because those are going to be simple and elegant designs.

Now the challenge is to focus and continue to push myself to pursue my goal(s). I’m enjoying looking at my business in a new light and I’m looking forward to seeing where I can go from here.

How often do you find yourself doing things because you think that’s what others want? Do you usually keep doing it or do you find yourself eventually going in the direction you want to go?

“Success is not the key to happiness. Happiness is the key to success. If you love what you are doing, you will be successful.” -Albert Schweitzer

Thanks for stopping by!

IMG_4781 IMG_4790

Leave a Reply

