Bumps in the Road

Sometimes we hit bumps in the road and we try desperately to avoid them, but we still hit them. I’ve hit a lot of bumps in my road, I’m sure we all have, and while they hurt, I try to learn from them. I try to learn how to avoid them in the future and how to make myself better because of them.

Recently I hit bump in my road that has ended up being a pretty big bump. I wish I had learned something from it sooner and could have moved on from it months ago, but such is life sometimes. Slowly, I am learning and as I learn I have figured out one thing. I am an artist by natural design.

Over the past six months, I have drastically cut back on my creating in effort to save money. In doing so, I have found myself starting to have an urge to create. At first it didn’t bother me, but the longer I go, the more ideas I get and the more I want to create. The few times I do create, I feel so much better about myself.

So I’m not an artist by the standards of most people. I don’t draw very well and painting comes in spurts. But I am an artist in the form of a creator. I like to play with things and see what happens. I like to take an idea and tweak it. When I don’t have something to play with in this way or a general plan of something to create or work on, I start questioning my purpose. What am I meant to do?

Because of the need to save, my jewelry business has taken a backseat this year, and that’s why the blogs have been becoming more spread out. Since I’m not creating as much, I have been running out of ideas to write about. I know I need to work on this. Come October, I will have the Lititz Artisans’ Porchwalk,which I have mentioned in years past, so I need to build up my inventory for that. I am planning on having almost an entirely new setup this year…new styles, new pieces. In anticipation of this, I plan on placing a supply order soon and getting started with moving forward. I hope you will stick with me through this. I’m looking forward to seeing what comes of it.

Thanks for reading!

IMG_4950 IMG_4956

 

 

Leave a Reply

