Getting the Most from Photos

Are you familiar with Etsy? If not, it’s an online marketplace for artists, crafters, and vintage sellers. Currently, this is the online venue I sell my jewelry through.

Ever since I started to sell on Etsy, I have struggled with my jewelry photos. They say photos are very important because people can’t physically look over the items being sold. I agree with this. Clear photos also give a more professional look and give the impression that the shop owner really cares about every detail in the business.

I have struggled with photos because I’m trying to make my photos like every other seller, or many of the other sellers, on Etsy. This isn’t working. It is highly recommended for sellers to use white backgrounds and this has been my issue. The background either washes out the jewelry or it’s grayish in color. I have not been able to get white backgrounds I like for my jewelry.

Finally, I consulted my husband and his graphic design background for advice. He reminded me that as important as Etsy might think white backgrounds are, it’s more important for the photos to look good and for them to show the jewelry in all of its beauty. With this, he suggested I try gray or tan. I didn’t have anything gray to use as a background, but I have a large piece of tan fabric.

This worked pretty well, but it was still showing up a little funny. My husband suggested I not lose hope with it and work with the various settings on my camera. After much stress and feelings of not getting anywhere, I’m finally getting photos I like. This is something I should continuously work on, but for now, it is giving me a more uniform background and it looks a lot better than bright white.

As I move toward a redesign of my business, these photos are the first step in creating my new image. What do you think?

IMG_5059 IMG_5181

If you need to compare, some of the old photos can still be found on Etsy: Gretchen Smith Jewelry

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for stopping by!

 

2 thoughts on “Getting the Most from Photos

  1. Briana Wolgemuth says:

    Have you tried using a plank of wood, with natural light? That might give the viewer a true view of the piece without washing it out. Or you could ask a friend to model for you- position them next to the window to get good light, and voila! Your customers can see what they look like while worn. Hope that helps!

    • Thanks for the ideas! I’ve been working with a piece of tan fabric and that seems to be working pretty well. We’ll see once they are done and loaded into the Etsy shop. If they still look off, I’ll try the wood idea. I have enough of that around! I struggle with the natural light though. It always seems too bright. What do you think of the two tan photos I posted? Those are inside the house in a light box.

Leave a Reply

