2015 Color of the Year…Marasala

One of the topics I like to touch on near the beginning of each year is the Pantone color of the year.

If you have not heard of Pantone before, they are considered the world’s authority on color. They create color systems, dictate color trends throughout the fashion industry and every year they designate a “color of the year.”

This year’s color is Marsala (18-1438). Pantone defines Marsala as “a naturally robust and earthy wine red, (it) enriches our minds, bodies, and souls.” (www.pantone.com)

marasala

I like this color, but when I look at it my first thought is “It’s a great fall color.” I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for spring colors, which I typically think of as light and bright. Luckily, I think Marsala would pair well with white, ivory, beige, and royal blue. Using Marsala as an accent to these colors, such as in a necklace or earrings, would make a simply classic looking outfit.

IMG_3974

This isn’t quite Marsala, but when it comes to gemstones I think garnet is about the closest color you will get.

What are your thoughts on Marsala? Do you wear it? Would you wear it?

If you are interested in the necklace posted above, please check it out on my Etsy site: Garnet Necklace

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

